65
  • Emailarticle
  • Writecomment

August - September 2011 Art, Culture, and Events

Your Chicago guide to the best museums, galleries, and events in Chicago

By

MUSEUMS

Art Institute of Chicago (111 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-443-3600/ artic.edu) presents Belligerent Encounters: Soviet Tass Posters at Home & Abroad: 1941-1945 through Oct. 23.

Chicago Architecture Foundation (224 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-922-3432/caf.architecture.org) conducts 85 different walking, bus and boat tours throughout Chicago.

Chicago Botanic Garden (1000 Lake Cook Rd., Glencoe/ 847-835-5440/chicago botanic.org) presents 24 spectacular gardens on 385 acres. Celebrate Halloween at Hallow Fest; Trains, Tricks & Treats; Spooky Pooch Parade. October 21, 22, 23, 29, 30, 31.

Chicago Cultural Center (78 E. Washington St., Chicago/312-744-6630/explore chicago.org) presents art exhibits and special events throughout the summer and fall.

Chicago History Museum (1601 N. Clark St., Chicago/312-642-4600/ chicagohs.org) presents Lincoln’s Chicago; Out in Chicago.
 

DePaul Art Museum (935 W. Fullerton, http://museums.depaul.edu/artwebsite/) The DePaul Art Museum’s new $7.8 million home will debut with the Sept. 17 opening of “Re: Chicago.” The exhibition, which will run through Feb 2012, examines the careers of Chicago artists over more than a century.

Field Museum (1400 S. Lake Shore Dr., Chicago/ 312-922-9410/fieldmuseum.org) hosts Whales: Giants of the Deep through Jan. 16.

Hyde Park Art Center (5020 S. Cornell Ave., Chicago/ 773-324-5520/hydeparkart. com) presents Immergence by Patrick Killoran.
 

Illinois Holocaust Museum and Education Center (9603 Woods Drive, Skokie/ 847-967-4800/ilholocaustmuseum.org) presents Spots of Light: To Be A Woman in the Holocaust through Oct. 2.
 

International Museum of Surgical Science (1524 N. Lake Shore Drive, Chicago/ 312-642-6502/imss.org) presents Surgicogenomics: Genes and Stem Cells in Surgery.
 

Intuit: The Center for Intuitive and Outsider Art (756 N. Milwaukee Ave., Chicago/ 312-243-9088/ art.org) presents You Better Be Listening: Text in Self-Taught Art through Jan. 14.
 

Kohl Children’s Museum of Greater Chicago (2100 Patriot Blvd., Glenview/ 847-832-6600/kohlchildrensmuseum.org) presents Science & You through Dec. 30.
 

Loyola University Museum of Art (820 N. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-915-6394/luc. edu/luma) presents Holiness and the Feminine Spirit: The Art of Janet McKenzie Aug. 20 through Oct. 23.
 

Mary and Leigh Block Museum of Art, Northwestern University (40 Arts Circle Drive, Evanston/847-491-4000/blockmuseum. northwestern.edu) presents Tango with Cows: Book Art of the Russian Avante-Garde, 1910-1917, Sept. 23 through Dec. 11.
 

Morton Arboretum (4100 Illinois Route 53, Lisle/ 630-968-0074/mortonarb.org) presents Nature Unframed: Art at the Arboretum through Nov. 27.
 

Museum of Contemporary Art (220 E. Chicago Ave., Chicago/ 312-280-2660/mca chicago.org) presents Pandora’s Box: Joseph Cornell Unlocks the MCA Collection through Oct. 16.
 

Museum of Contemporary Photography (600 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-663-5554/ mocp.org) presents Our Origins through Oct. 16.
 

Museum of Science and Industry (600 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-663-5554/msi chicago.org) reopens Smart Home: Green & Wired through Jan. 8; Tornado Alley through Dec. 31.
 

Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum (2430 N. Cannon Drive, Chicago/ 773-755-5100/ chias.org) presents Architecture by Birds and Insects through Oct. 23.
 

Smart Museum of Art (5550 S. Greenwood Ave., Chicago/ 773-702-0200/smartmuseum. com) presents Vision and Communism Sept. 29-Jan. 22.
 

Spertus Museum (610 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/312-322-1700/spertus.edu/ museum) presents Uncovered & Rediscovered: Stories of Jewish Chicago through Dec. 2012.

THEATRE

American Theater Company (1909 W. Byron, Chicago/773-409-4125/atcweb.org) presents The Amish Project, Sept.- Oct.
 

Apollo Theater (2540 N. Lincoln Ave, Chicago/773-935-6100/apollochicago.com) presents Million Dollar Quartet.
 

Auditorium Theatre of Roosevelt University (50 E. Congress Parkway, Chicago/800-982-ARTS/auditorium theatre.com) presents Hallelujah Broadway, Sept. 17; Susan Werner, Sept. 24; Trace Adkins, Oct. 2.
 

Briar Street Theater (3133 N. Halsted Street, Chicago/ 773-348-4000/blueman.com) presents a new and updated Blue Man Group showcasing technogeek ingenuity.
 

Broadway in Chicago (312-977-1717/ broadwayinchicago.com) presents Love, Loss and What I Wore, Sept. 13- Oct. 23.
 

Chicago Dramatists (1105 W. Chicago Ave, Chicago/312-633-0630/chicagodramatists.org) presents The Kid Thing Sept. 11-Oct. 16.
 

Chicago Shakespeare Theater on Navy Pier (800 E. Grand Ave., Chicago/312-595-5600/ chicagoshakes.com) presents Follies Oct. 4- Nov. 6.
 

Chicago Theatre (175 N. State Street/ 312-902-1500/thechicagotheatre.com) presents Alison Kraus & Union St, Sept. 9; Bryan Adams, Oct. 8.
 

Court Theatre (5535 S. Ellis Ave, Chicago/ 773-753-4472/courttheatre.org) presents The Comedy of Errors Sept. 16- Oct. 17.
 

Drury Lane Theatre 630-530-0111/ 100  Drury Lane, Oakbrook Terrace, Oak Brook/ drurylaneoakbrook.com) presents Sweeney Todd through Oct. 9.
 

Goodman Theatre (170 N. Dearborn St., Chicago/312-443-3800/goodmantheatre.org) presents Red Sept. 17- Oct. 23.
 

Harris Theater (205 E. Randolph St., Chicago/ 312-334-7777/harristheaterchicago. org) presents Musica Panamericana Oct. 7; Natya Dance Theatre Oct. 8.
 

Lookingglass Theatre (821 N. Michigan Ave./312-337-0665/lookingglasstheatre.org) presents The Great Fire from Sept. 21.
 

Marriott Theatre (10 Marriott Drive, Lincolnshire/847-634-0200/ marriottheatre.com) presents For the Boys through Oct. 16.
 

Millennium Park (201 E. Randolph, Chicago/312-742-1168/explorechicago.org) offers free world-class musical concerts throughout the summer.
 

Northlight Theatre (9501 Skokie Blvd., Skokie/ 847-673-6300/ northlight.org) presents Snapshots Sept. 16- Oct. 23.
 

The Paramount Theatre (23 E. Galena Blvd, Aurora/630-896-6666/paramountaurora. com) presents My Fair Lady Sept. 14- Oct. 2.
 

Porchlight Music Theatre (2814 N. Lincoln Ave, Chicago/773-325-9884/porchlighttheatre. com) presents Sunday in the Park with George Sept. 10- Oct. 31.
 

Profiles Theatre (4147 N. Broadway, Chicago/ 773-549-1815/profilestheatre.org) presents A Behanding in Spokane Sept. 1- Oct. 16.
 

Raven Theatre Company (6157 N. Clark St, Chicago/773-338-2177/raventheatre.com) presents Bus Stop Oct. 11- Dec. 11.
 

Ravinia Festival (Highland Park/847-266-5100/ravinia.org) features top-name musicians throughout the summer ending Sept. 11.
 

Steppenwolf Theatre Company (1650 N. Halsted St., Chicago/312-335-1650/steppenwolf. org) presents Clybourne Park Sept. 8- Nov. 6.
 

TimeLine Theatre (615 W. Wellington, Chicago/773-281-8463/timelinetheatre.com) presents Frost/Nixon through Oct. 10.
 

Writers’ Theatre (325 Tudor Court, Glencoe/847-242-6000/writerstheatre.org) presents The Real Thing Sept. 13- Nov. 30.
 

Victory Gardens (2433 N. Lincoln Ave, Chicago/773-871-3000/victorygardens.org) presents In the Next Room or the vibrator play Sept. 9- Oct. 9.

GALLERIES

Ann Nathan Gallery (212 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-664-6622/annnathan gallery.com) presents figurative art and realism.
 

The Arts Club of Chicago (201 E. Ontario, Chicago/312-787-3997/artsclubchicago.com) founded in 1916, presents arts and related activities.
 

Carl Hammer Gallery (740 N. Wells St., Chicago/312-266-8512/hammergallery.com) presents From Struggle Came Power Sept. 10- Oct. 23.
 

Catherine Edelman Gallery (300 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-266-2350/edelman gallery. com) presents The Chicago Project IV through Sept. 15; Kelli Connell, Double Life, Sept. 9- Oct. 29.
 

Carrie Secrist Gallery (835 W. Washington Blvd, Chicago/312-491-0917/secristgallery. com) presents a solo exhibition by Saul Becker Sept. 9- Oct. 15.
 

Chicago Art Dealers Association (chicagoartdealers.org) presents First Thursdays. Galleries open till 7:00 pm, River North.
 

Douglas Dawson Gallery (400 N. Morgan St/Chicago/312-226-7975/douglasdawson. com) specializes in ancient and historic art from Africa, Asia and the Americas.
 

Echt Gallery (222 W. Superior St., Chicago /312-440-0268/echtgallery.com) presents paintings on glass by Gregory Grenon Sept. 9 through Oct. 22.
 

Gallery KH (311 W. Superior Street, Chicago / 312-642-0202/gallerykh.com) presents M. Ellen Cocose, Luminosity, through Sept. 5.
 

Jean Albano Gallery (215 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-440-0770/jeanalbano gallery.com) presents contemporary painting, sculpture and mixed media.
 

Josef Glimer Gallery, Ltd. (207 W. Superior Street/Chicago /312-787-4640/josefglimer gallery. com) presents Dripping jewels…painted   poetry, epic poems and paintings by Sheila Finnegan.
 

Hinge Gallery (1955 W. Chicago Ave./Chicago/hingegallery.com) presents work by Jeffrey Forsythe and Dan Tague, Sept. 10- Oct. 30.
 

Judy A. Saslow Gallery (300 W. Superior, Chicago/312-943-0530/jsaslowgallery.com) presents Inspired through Sept. 3.
 

Ken Saunders Gallery, Ltd (230 W. Superior St., Chicago/312-573-1400/ kensaunders gallery. com) presents artists from the Studio Glass Movement.
 

Linda Warren Gallery (1052 W. Fulton Market, Chicago/312-432-9500/lindawarren gallery.com) presents Ed Valentine Sept. 9-.Oct. 22. Jason Peot, Addendum through Sept. 3.
 

Packer Schopf Gallery (942 W. Lake, Chicago/312-226-8984/packergallery.com) presents contemporary art.
 

Maya Polsky Gallery (215 W. Superior Street, Chicago/ 312-440-0055/mayapolsky gallery.com) represents artists Jose Cobo, Susanna Coffey, Alla Esipovich, among others.
 

Perimeter Gallery (210 W. Superior, Chicago/ 312-266-9473/perimetergallery.com) features contemporary works in painting, sculpture, ceramics and fiber arts.
 

Printworks Gallery (311 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-664-9407/printworkschicago. com) presents James Mesple Sept. 9- Oct. 15.
 

The Renaissance Society at the University of Chicago (5811 S. Ellis Avenue, Bergman Gallery, Chicago/773-702-8670/renaissancesociety.org) presents vanguard art.
 

Rhona Hoffman Gallery (118 N. Peoria, Chicago, 312-455-1990/rhoffmangallery.com) presents Bodybraingame curated by Hudson from Sept. 9.
 

Roy Boyd Gallery (739 N. Wells Street, Chicago/312-642-1606/royboydgallery.com) presents Teo Gonzalez: New Paintings Sept. 9- Oct. 25.
   

Russell Bowman Art Advisory (311 W. Superior, Chicago/312-751-9500/bowmanart. com) presents modern and self-taught art.
 

Schneider Gallery (230 W. Superior Street, Chicago/ 312-988-4033/schneidergallery.com) presents contemporary photography.
 

Zg Gallery (300 W. Superior Street, Chicago/ 312-654-9900/zggallery.com) presents contemporary art.
 

Zolla/Lieberman Gallery Inc. (325 W. Huron Street, Chicago/ 312-944-1990/zolla liebermangallery.com) presents Jamie Adams, Jin  Soo Kim Sept. 9- Oct. 22.

André Rieu Returns to Chicago Sept. 18th at the United Center
    He’s a violinist and conductor who sells more tickets than
Beyoncé, Cold Play and Britney Spears. André Rieu ranked sixth in best-selling tours worldwide in 2009, grossing $96 million that year alone. Performing in the U.S., Canada, Mexico, South Africa, Australia, New Zealand and throughout Europe, Rieu has sold over 30 million albums and has been performing for 35 years.
    Who knew there was such a hunger for classical waltzes, ballads and polkas? Rieu says he gets letters from people who say they are driving 1,000 miles to see him. “My audience is everybody who wants to open their hearts to beautiful music and feeling,” he says. Rieu and the Johann Sebastian Strauss Orchestra have the audience literally dancing in the aisles during the performances. “I don’t tell them to. They just do it,” he says.
   Regular PBS showings have helped Rieu to attract and retain such a huge following. The 61 year old Austrian is planning to stay on top for a long time. Rieu says, “I’m living my dream. I’m going to live to be 120. It’s just over half over. Music keeps you young.”
   For more information contact the United Center at 312-455-4500, Ticketmaster at 800-745-3000 or visit ticketmaster.com.

Published: August 20, 2011
Issue: Fall 2011 Issue