• Emailarticle
  • Writecomment

April 2012 - May 2012 Art, Culture, and Events

Your Chicago guide to the best museums, galleries, and events in Chicago


Art Institute of Chicago (111 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-443-3600/ artic.edu) presents Fabric of a New Nation through May 13.
Chicago Botanic Garden (1000 Lake Cook Rd., Glencoe/ 847-835-5440/chicago botanic.org) presents 24 spectacular gardens on 385 acres. Antiques and Garden Fair April 20-22; Nature in View May 5-July 8.

Chicago Cultural Center (78 E. Washington St., Chicago/312-744-6630/explore chicago.org) presents free music, dance and theater, films, lectures, art exhibitions and family events. Matthew Woodward: View from the Birth Day through July 15; Shawn Major: On a Darkling Plain through July 15.
Chicago History Museum (1601 N. Clark, Chicago/312-642-4600/ chicagohs.org) presents Magic, opening Summer 2012.
DePaul Art Museum (935 W. Fullerton, http://museums.depaul.edu/artwebsite/) The DePaul Art Museum’s new $7.8 million home presents Studio Malick through June 3.
Field Museum (1400 S. Lake Shore Dr., Chicago/ 312-922-9410/fieldmuseum.org) presents Science on the Half Shell through Aug. 19.
Hyde Park Art Center (5020 S. Cornell Ave., Chicago/ 773-324-5520/hydeparkart. com) presents The Hairy Blob, April 22-July 29.
Illinois Holocaust Museum and Education Center  (9603 Woods Drive, Skokie/ 847-967-4800/ilholocaustmuseum.org) presents Ours to Fight For: American Jews in the Second World War through June 17.
International Museum of Surgical Science (1524 N. Lake Shore Drive, Chicago/ 312-642-6502/imss.org) presents Surgicogenomics: Genes and Stem Cells in Surgery.
Intuit: The Center for Intuitive and Outsider Art (756 N. Milwaukee Ave., Chicago/ 312-243-9088/ art.org) presents Heaven + Hell, in collaboration with the Loyola University Museum of Art through June 30.
Kohl Children’s Museum of Greater Chicago (2100 Patriot Blvd., Glenview/ 847-832-6600/kohlchildrensmuseum.org) presents Sonic Sensation through May 10; Chagall for Children opens Summer 2012.
Loyola University Museum of Art (820 N. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-915-6394/luc. edu/luma) presents Heaven+ Hell through June 30.
Mary and Leigh Block Museum of Art, Northwestern University (40 Arts Circle Drive, Evanston/847-491-4000/blockmuseum. northwestern.edu) presents Art on Paper: Prints, Drawings and Photographs from the Block Museum, May 11-Aug. 26.
Morton Arboretum (4100 Illinois Route 53, Lisle/ 630-968-0074/mortonarb.org) presents Tree House Tales opening June 15.
Museum of Contemporary Art (220 E. Chicago Ave., Chicago/ 312-280-2660/mca chicago.org) presents Rashid Johnson: Message to our Folks through Aug. 15.
Museum of Contemporary Photography (600 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-663-5554/ mocp.org) presents Survival Techniques: Narratives of Residence through July 1.
Museum of Science and Industry (600 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-663-5554/msi chicago.org) presents Mythbusters: the Explosive Exhibition through Sept. 3.
National Museum of Mexican Art (1852 W. 19th St., Chicago/312-738-1503/nationalmuseumofmexicanart.org) El alma del Fiesta through Aug. 19.
Noyes Cultural Art Center Gallery (927 Noyes Street, Evanston/847-448-8620) presents art exhibits curated by Chie Curley and Barbara Goldsmith.
Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum (2430 N. Cannon Drive, Chicago/ 773-755-5100/ chias.org) presents The Lost Panoramas: When Chicago Changed its River and the Land Beyond, through April 29.
Smart Museum of Art (5550 S. Greenwood Ave., Chicago/ 773-702-0200/smartmuseum. com) presents Feast: Radical Hospitality in Contemporary Art through June 10.
Spertus Museum (610 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/312-322-1700/spertus.edu/ museum) presents Uncovered & Rediscovered: Stories of Jewish Chicago through Dec.


Apollo Theater (2540 N. Lincoln Ave, Chicago/773-935-6100/apollochicago.com) presents the Million Dollar Quartet through Sept. 2.
Auditorium Theatre of Roosevelt University ( 50 E. Congress Parkway, Chicago/ 800-982-ARTS/auditorium theatre.com) presents Joffrey Ballet, April 25-May 6.
Black Ensemble Theater (4450 N. Clark St., Chicago/773-769-4451/blackensembletheater.org) presents One Name Only, July 29-Sept. 16.
Briar Street Theater (3133 N. Halsted Street, Chicago/ 773-348-4000/blueman. com) presents a new and updated Blue Man Group showcasing technogeek ingenuity.
Broadway in Chicago (312-977-1717/ broadwayinchicago.com) presents a selection of plays in the Chicago Theater District.
Chicago Dramatists (1105 W. Chicago Ave, Chicago/312-633-0630/chicagodramatists. org) presents I Am Going to Change the World, June 3-July 1.
Chicago Shakespeare Theater on Navy Pier (800 E. Grand Ave., Chicago/312-595-5600/ chicagoshakes.com) presents Being Shakespeare, April 18-29.
Chicago Theatre (175 N. State Street/ 312-902-1500/thechicagotheatre.com) presents Steve Winwood, May 15.
Court Theatre (5535 S. Ellis Ave, Chicago/ 773-753-4472/courttheatre.org) presents Angels in Ameria: Millenium Approaches and Prestroika through June 3.
Drury Lane Theatre 630-530-0111/ 100  Drury Lane, Oakbrook Terrace, Oak Brook/ drurylaneoakbrook.com) presents The 39 Steps, July 5-Aug. 26.
Goodman Theatre (170 N. Dearborn St., Chicago/312-443-3800/goodmantheatre.org) presents The Iceman Cometh, April 21-June 10.
Harris Theater (205 E. Randolph St., Chicago/ 312-334-7777/harristheaterchicago. org) presents Paris Opera Ballet, June 26-July 1.
Lookingglass Theatre (821 N. Michigan, lookingglasstheatre.org/312-337-0665) presents Rick Bayless in Cascabel through April 22.
Marriott Theatre (10 Marriott Drive, Lincolnshire/847-634-0200/ marriottheatre.com) presents The Pirates of Penzance through June 10.
Northlight Theatre (9501 Skokie Blvd., Skokie/ 847-673-6300/ northlight.org) presents [title of show], May 4-June 10.
Porchlight Music Theatre (2814 N. Lincoln Ave, Chicago/773-325-9884/porchlighttheatre. com) presents tick, tick...BOOM!, April 27-June 10.
Profiles Theatre (4147 N. Broadway, Chicago/ 773-549-1815/profilestheatre.org) presents Bachelorette through April 29.
Raven Theatre Company (6157 N. Clark St, Chicago/773-338-2177/raven theatre. com) presents Bang the Drum Slowly, May 15-June 30.
A Red Orchid Theatre (1531 N. Wells, Chicago/ 312-943-8722/aredorchid theatre.org) presents The Butcher of Barraboo through May 20.
Red Tape Theatre (621 W. Belmont, Chicago/847-738-6919/redtapetheatre.org) presents Elephant’s Graveyard, May 10-June 16.
Royal George Theatre (1641 North Halsted, Chicago/312-988-9000/royalgeorgetheatre. com) presents Motherhood the Musical.
Steppenwolf Theatre Company (1650 N. Halsted St., Chicago/312-335-1650/steppenwolf. org) presents The March through June 10.
TimeLine Theatre (615 W. Wellington, Chicago/773-281-8463/timelinetheatre.com) presents My Kind of Town, May 1-July 29.
Victory Gardens (2433 N. Lincoln Ave, Chicago/773-871-3000/victorygardens.org) presents Oedipus del Rey, June 29-July 29.
Writers’ Theatre (325 Tudor Court, Glencoe  /847-242-6000/writerstheatre.org) presents The Blonde, the Brunette and the Vengeful Redhead, May 22-July 29.


Ann Nathan Gallery (212 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-664-6622/annnathan gallery.com) presents figurative art and realism.
The Arts Club of Chicago (201 E. Ontario, Chicago/312-787-3997/artsclubchicago. com) Founded in 1916, the Arts Club exhibits international contemporary art.
Catherine Edelman Gallery (300 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-266-2350/edelman gallery. com) presents Daniel Beltra, Spill, through April 28; Shelby Lee Adams May 4-June 30.
Carrie Secrist Gallery (835 W. Washington Blvd, Chicago/312-491-0917/secristgallery. com) presents Liliana Porter through May 26.
Douglas Dawson Gallery (400 N. Morgan, Chicago/312-226-7975/douglasdawson.com) Animal Instinct: Animals in Ethnographica, April 20 - May 19, 2012, Opening Friday, April 20, 5:30 - 7:30 pm.
Echt Gallery (222 W. Superior, Chicago /312- 440-0268/echtgallery.com) features East & West, May 4-June 22.
Hinge Gallery (1955 W. Chicago/ Chicago/ 312-291-9313/hingegallery.com) presents Is It What? through May 5.
Perimeter Gallery (210 W. Superior, Chicago/ 312-266-9473/perimetergallery. com) presents Neil Goodman, April 20- May 20.
Maya Polsky Gallery (215 W. Superior Street, Chicago/ 312-440-0055/mayapolsky gallery.com) presents contemporary fine art.
Gallery KH (311 W. Superior Street, Chicago /312-642-0202/gallerykh.com) presents Rick Stevens: Shaping the Unknown  through May 1.
Jean Albano Gallery (215 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-440-0770/jeanalbano gallery.com) presents Margaret Wharton, April 20-June 2.
Judy A. Saslow Gallery (300 W. Superior, Chicago/312-943-0530/jsaslowgallery.com) presents Daniel Fitzpatrick, Lauren Wild, Songbird Bost, through May 26.
Ken Saunders Gallery, Ltd (230 W. Superior St., Chicago/312-573-1400/ kensaunders gallery. com) presents Dante Marioni, May 4 -June 16.
Linda Warren Gallery (1052 W. Fulton Market, Chicago/312-432-9500/lindawarren gallery. com) presents Tom Torluemke: RingAround the Rose; Jeriah Hildwine: Living Dead Girls.
Printworks Gallery (311 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-664-9407/printworks chicago. com) presents Norbert Freese, April 27- May 26.
The Renaissance Society at the University of Chicago (5811 S. Ellis Avenue, Chicago/  773-702-8670/renaissancesociety.org) presents Dawoud Bey, May 13-June 24.
Rhona Hoffman Gallery (118 N. Peoria, Chicago, 312-455-1990/rhoffmangallery. com) presents Carmen McLeod through May 10.
Roy Boyd Gallery (739 N. Wells, Chicago/ 312-642-1606/royboydgallery.com) presents Daniel Bodner through May 29.
Russell Bowman Art Advisory (311 W. Superior, Chicago/312-751-9500/bowmanart. com) presents Image/Abstraction Object, April 27-June 30.
Schneider Gallery (230 W. Superior Street, Chicago/ 312-988-4033/schneidergallery.com) presents Xavier, Valerie Oliveiro and Paul Stacey, through April 28.
Zg Gallery (300 W. Superior Street, Chicago/ 312-654-9900/zggallery.com) presents Trine Bumiller through April 14.
Zolla/Lieberman Gallery Inc. (325 W. Huron Street, Chicago/ 312-944-1990/zolla liebermangallery.com) presents Maria Tomasula-Singularities through May 5.


 Chicago Antique Jewelry & Watch Show, Sheridan Chicago Hotel & Towers (239-732-6642/AntiqueJewelryChicago.com) April 20- April 22.
 Congregation Solel, Highland Park, 847-433-3555, “In Pursuit of the Longevity Dividend: Living Longer and Better,” by S. Jay Olshansky, Ph.D., 1:30 Sunday, April 29. 

Published: April 14, 2012
Issue: Spring 2012 Issue