72
  • Emailarticle
  • Writecomment

April 2013 - May 2013 Chicago Art, Culture, and Events

See our listing of Chicago Arts and Events around town occuring this spring

By CHICAGO LIFE MAGAZINE
ARTS & EVENTS

Museums

Adler Planetarium (1300 S. Lake Shore Drive, Chicago/312-922-7827/adlerplanetarium.org) presents The Universe: A Walk through Space and Time; Cosmic Wonder opens May 17.
 
Art Institute of Chicago (111 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-443-3600/artic.edu) presents Sharing Space: Creative Interactions in Architecture and Design through Aug. 4.
 
Chicago Botanic Garden (1000 Lake Cook Rd., Glencoe/ 847-835-5440/chicago- botanic.org) presents 24 spectacular gardens on 385 acres. Take the Grand Tour—a narrated 35-minute tram tour of the garden.
 
Chicago Cultural Center (78 E. Washington St., Chicago/312-744-6630/explore chicago.org) presents free exhibitions and events.
 
Chicago History Museum (1601 N. Clark, Chicago/312-642-4600/chicagohs. org) presents Magic: Vivian Maier’s Chicago through summer 2013; Shalom Chicago through Sept. 2.
 
DePaul Art Museum (935 W. Fullerton, Chicago/museums.DePaul.edu/artwebsite/ 773-325-7506) presents For and Against Modern Art: The Armory Show+100.
  
Driehaus Museum (40 East Erie/312-482-8933/driehausmuseum.org) presents one of the grandest residential buildings of 19th century Chicago.
 
Field Museum (1400 S. Lake Shore Dr., Chicago/ 312-922-9410/fieldmuseum.org) presents Scenes from the Stone Age: The Cave Paintings of Lascaux through Sept. 8.
 
Hyde Park Art Center (5020 S. Cornell Ave., Chicago/ 773-324-5520/hydeparkart. org) presents Lee Blalock: NEUE.
  
Illinois Holocaust Museum and Education Center (9603 Woods Drive, Skokie/ 847-967-4800/ilholocaustmuseum.org) presents Fire in My Heart: The Story of Hannah Senesh, May 14-Sept. 18.
  
International Museum of Surgical Science (1524 N. Lake Shore Drive, Chicago/ 312-642-6502/imss.org) presents Surgicogenomics: Genes and Stem Cells in Surgery.
  
Intuit: The Center for Intuitive and Outsider Art (756 N. Milwaukee Ave., Chicago/ 312-243-9088/ art.org) presents The Circus Collages of C.T. McCluskey, through May 25.
 
Kohl Children’s Museum of Greater Chicago (2100 Patriot Blvd., Glenview/ 847-832-6600/kohlchildrensmuseum.org) presents Powered by Nature.
  
LUMA, Loyola University Museum of Art (820 N. Michigan Ave., Chicago/ 312-915-6394/luc. edu/luma) presents Graven Images: Marc Chagall’s Bible Illustrations through June 16.
   
Mary and Leigh Block Museum of Art, Northwestern University (40 Arts Circle Drive, Evanston/847-491-4000/blockmuseum.northwestern. edu) presents Blacklisted: William Propper’s Capriccios through Aug. 11.
  
Mitchell Museum (3001 Central St., Evanston/847-475-1030/mitchellmuseum.org) presents Another View of American Indian Fine Art through Sept. 1.
  
Morton Arboretum (4100 Illinois Route 53, Lisle/630-968-0074/mortonarb.org) Outdoor tree museum of 1700 acres including specialty gardens.
  
Museum of Contemporary Art (220 E. Chicago Ave., Chicago/312-280-2660/ mca chicago.org) presents Amalia Pica April 27-Aug. 11.
  
Museum of Contemporary Photography (600 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/312-663-5554/ mocp.org) presents Spectator Sports through July 3.
   
Museum of Science and Industry (600 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago/312-663-5554/ msichicago.org) presents Animal Inside Out through Sept. 2.
 
Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum (2430 N. Cannon Drive, Chicago/773-755- 5100/ chias.org) presents Food: The Nature of Eating.
  
The Renaissance Society at the University of Chicago (5811 S. Ellis Avenue, Chicago 773-702-8670/renaissance society.org) presents William Pope. L; Forlesen, April 28-June 23.
  
Smart Museum of Art (5550 S. Greenwood Ave., Chicago/773-702-0200/ smartmuseum. com) presents The Sahmat Collective: Art and Activism in India since 1989, through June. 9.
 
Spertus Museum (610 S. Michigan Ave.,Chicago/312-322-1700/spertus.edu/ museum) presents Voices & Visions, May 12-Aug. 11.

Theatre 

Apollo Theater (2540 N. Lincoln Ave, Chicago/773-935-6100/apollochicago.com) presents Thirsty through May 18 in the Studio.
 
ATC, American Theater Company (1909 W. Byron St./Chicago/773-409-4125/ atcweb. org) presents Hair through June.
 
Auditorium Theatre of Roosevelt University (50 E. Congress Parkway, Chicago/ 800-982-ARTS/auditorium theatre.com) presents The Joffrey Ballet—Othello, April 24-May 5.
 
Briar Street Theater (3133 N. Halsted Street, Chicago/773-348-4000/blueman. com) presents a new and updated Blue Man Group showcasing technogeek ingenuity.
  
Chicago Theatre (175 N. State Street/ 312-902-1500/thechicagotheatre.com) presents Joe Bonamassa, May 1.
 
Chicago Shakespeare Theater on Navy Pier (800 E. Grand Ave., Chicago/ 312-595-5600/ chicagoshakes.com) presents Henry VIII, April 30-June 16.
  
Drury Lane Theatre (100  Drury Lane, Oakbrook Terrace, Oak Brook, 630-530- 0111/ drurylaneoakbrook.com) presents Oliver through June 2.
 
Goodman Theatre (170 N. Dearborn St., Chicago/312-443-3800/goodmantheatre. org) presents The Happiest Song Plays Last through May 12.
 
Harris Theater (205 E. Randolph St., Chicago/312-334-7777/harristheaterchicago. org) presents Ballet Chicago, May 18, 19.
  
Lookingglass Theatre (821 N. Michigan Ave, Chicago/312-377- 0665/lookingglasstheatre.org) presents Still Alice through May 19.
 
Marriott Theatre (10 Marriott Drive, Lincolnshire/847-634-0200/marriotttheatre. com) presents South Pacific through June 2.
 
Mercury Theatre (3745 N. Southport Ave., Chicago/773-325-1700/mercurytheatre chicago.com) presents Barnum though June 16.
  
Northlight Theatre (9501 Skokie Blvd., Skokie/847-673-6300/northlight.org) presents Stella & Lou, May 3-June 9.  
  
Raven Theatre Company (6157 N. Clark St, Chicago/773-338-2177/raventheatre. com) presents Brighton Beach Memoirs, April 30-June 29.
  
A Red Orchid Theatre (1531 N. Wells St, Chicago/312-943-8722/aredorchidtheatre. org) presents In a Garden through May 19.
 
Royal George Theatre (1641 North Halsted, Chicago/312-988-9000/royalgeorgetheatre. com) presents Late Night Catechism.
 
Steppenwolf Theatre Company (1650 N. Halsted St., Chicago/312-335-1650/steppenwolf. org) presents Head of Passes through June 9.
 
TimeLine Theatre (615 W. Wellington, Chicago/773-281-8463/timelinetheatre. com) presents Blood and Gifts, May 9-July 28.
 
Victory Gardens (2433 N. Lincoln Ave, Chicago/773-871-3000/victorygardens.org) presents The Whale through May 5.
 
Writers’ Theatre (664 Vernon Ave, Glencoe/847-242-6000/writerstheatre.org) presents Yellow Moon through July 28.

Galleries

Ann Nathan Gallery (212 W. Superior St., Chicago/312-664-6622/annnathan gallery. com) presents contemporary realism in paintings, sculpture, and unique functional furniture.
   
The Arts Club of Chicago (201 E. Ontario, Chicago/312-787-3997/artsclub chicago. com) presents David LaSalle, May 14 - Aug. 10.
  
Carrie Secrist Gallery (835 W. Washington Blvd,, Chicago/312-491-0917/secristgallery. com) presents Michael Robinson through May 11.
 
Catherine Edelman Gallery (300 W. Superior, Chicago/edelmangallery.com) presents Michael Kenna, May 10-July 6.
  
Douglas Dawson Gallery (400 N. Morgan, Chicago/312-226-7975/douglasdawson. com) presents non-western art including textiles, sculpture and vessels.
 
Gallery KH (311 W. Superior  Street, Chicago/312-642-0202/gallerykh.com) presents Francine Turk, A 10 Year Retrospective.
 
Jean Albano Gallery (215 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-440-0770/jeanalbano gallery.com) presents Terri Zupanc.
  
Judy A Saslow Gallery (300 W. Superior, Chicago/312-943-0530/jsaslowgallery.com) presents Bright+Beautiful through June 1.
 
Linda Warren Gallery (1052 W. Fulton Market, Chicago/312-432-9500/lindawarren gallery. com) presents Hollis Brown Thornton; Jon Waldo through May 31.
  
Perimeter Gallery (210 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-266-9473/perimetergallery. com) presents Don Pollack (painting) through May 31.
 
Printworks Gallery (311 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-664-9407/printworks chicago. com) presents Martyl May 3-June 8.   
  
R.S. Johnson Fine Art (645 N. Michigan Ave., Chicago/312-943-1661/rsjohnsonfine art.com) Durer to Rembrandt: A Major Collection of Old Master Prints, through April.
  
Rhona Hoffman Gallery (118 N. Peoria, Chicago, 312-455-1990/rhoffmangallery.com) presents Sol Lewitt: Concrete Block Structure, April 26-June 1.
 
Richard Gray Gallery (875 N. Michigan Ave., Suite 2503, Chicago/312-642-8877/ richardgraygallery.com) presents Jaume Plense.
 
Roy Boyd Gallery(739 N. Wells, Chicago/  312-642-1606/royboydgallery.com) presents Wall Relief Group Show, through June 4.
 
Russell Bowman Art Advisory (311 W. Superior, Chicago/312-751-9500/bowmanart com) presents Thomas Nozkowski through June 15.
 
Schneider Gallery (230 W. Superior Street, Chicago/312-988-4033/schneider gallery.com) presents Pablo Soria: Nocturnal; Caleb Charland: Fathom and Fray, May 3-June 29.
  
Zolla/Lieberman Gallery Inc. (325 W. Huron Street, Chicago/312-944-1990/zolla  liebermangallery.com) presents Phyllis Bramson—Lovesick Maladies: Troubled Hearts, Fevered Dreams (Sobs and Kisses!) through May 24. 

Events

Enjoy the grand opening of State of the Art gallery (218 E. State St,  Rockford, IL) on May 3, featuring works by the gallery owner, Roni Golan, as well as regional artists



Published: April 15, 2013
Issue: Spring 2013 Issue